Wednesday, February 23, 2005

Endless Summary: Vol. 8 – Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)

One-sentence capsule summaries of Beach Boys songs, album by album.
  1. "The Girl From New York City": Mike reports that Californian boys have gone ga-ga over the titular East Coaster.
  2. "Amusement Parks U.S.A.": Mike would like you to drive him to the local amusement park.
  3. "Then I Kissed Her": In a gender-flipping Crystals cover, Al meets a girl, kisses her, then asks her to marry him.
  4. "Salt Lake City": Mike lists several reasons why he likes the capital of Utah.
  5. "Girl Don't Tell Me": Carl resolves not to fall again for the same girl who he dated last summer but didn't answer his letters.
  6. "Help Me, Rhonda" (appeared in a different version on Beach Boys Today!): Al thinks dating the title character would help him get over his broken engagement.
  7. "California Girls": Mike wishes that every girl could live in his home state.
  8. "Let Him Run Wild": Brian thinks your philandering boyfriend will eventually get his own heart broken, and in the meantime, is happy to take you off his hands.
  9. "You're So Good To Me": You're so good to Brian, and he loves it.
  10. "Summer Means New Love": This short instrumental shows off Brian's new symphonic style.
  11. "I'm Bugged At My Ol' Man": Brian is peeved at his disciplinarian father's overly severe punishments.
  12. "And Your Dream Comes True": The boys sing an a cappella summer lullaby.


Anonymous Matt said...

"Mike wishes that every girl could live in his home state."

I've been on board with this project from the beginning. But wouldn't it be more accurate to say that "California Girls" is about Mike's wish that girls all over the world could be like the girls in his home state, regardless of where they actually live?

2/24/2005 03:26:00 PM  
Blogger Scott said...

I can't wait till you get to that loop-de-loop airplane bullshit.

2/24/2005 03:44:00 PM  
Blogger Peter Lynn said...

And here I was, doing this until someone insisted I stop, only to find you guys are into it.

Matt: As I read the lyrics, Mike's into the girls from all around the world for different reasons. East Coast girls are hip and stylish, Southerners speak nicely, Midwesterners are hospitable, and Northerners transfer body heat efficiently. He'd like all this variety close at hand. And it's just like dumbass Mike to try to haphazardly cram every girl in the US into one state.

2/24/2005 08:27:00 PM  
Blogger Peter Lynn said...

Scott: I wasn't going to do the lost Smile and Landlocked albums (the latter of which is where "Loop-De-Loop" appears), because so many of their songs ended up trickling out on other albums. But now I'll make sure to do them, just to make sure I cover the loop-de-loop airplane bullshit.

By the way, you may have noticed that starting with Today!, the songs get considerably less lyrically inane and actually start being written about worthwhile topics. I promise you that will stop on Friday with Smile when Brian goes batshit crazy and starts writing songs about carrots.

2/24/2005 08:33:00 PM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Listed on BlogShares